I Don’t Want To Become Like You Anymore 

Back when I was a child, I used to think that I wanted to be like you. I would always see you stand up for yourself and for us.

Back when I was a child, I used to think that I wanted to be like you. You were brave and you spoke freely about your opinions. 

Back when I was a child, I used to think that I wanted to be like you. You were kindhearted to all— you were an obedient daughter, a responsible sister, and a nurturing mother for your children who just witnessed their parents go through a rough falling out. 

Back when I was a child, I used to think that I wanted to be like you. You were always so supportive of what I wanted (even when they’re boys at school). 

Back when I was a child, I used to think that I wanted to be like you. You were the one whom I look up to as a role model as I saw you as a strong woman with integrity. 

I don’t want to become like you anymore. 

You are no longer the mother I used to know. I saw how you would only stand up for yourself and how you would shut people down so easily without bothering to really listen.

You are no longer the mother I used to know. You only voice out what you think is right and not care about others’ opinion. 

You are no longer the mother I used to know. I see grandma crying because you chose a man whom she doesn’t like for you, you would only see your siblings’ shortcomings, and you became a hotheaded woman towards your children. 

You are no longer the mother I used to know. Now, you refuse to listen to what your children has to say. You have never had the decency to show a liking to the boy who managed to steal my heart— you anticipate for our breakup. 

You are no longer the mother I used to know. You would run out at night for a secret rendezvous with your new man who never even bothers spending time with us. 

I don’t want to become like you anymore. 

Leave a Reply

